About the office

ECA established Sub-regional presence in Southern Africa in 1966 when it opened the Sub-regional Office for Eastern and Southern Africa in Lusaka, Zambia.

The office serves eleven countries: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. ECA-SA seeks to strengthen the capacities of member States for regional integration along specific priorities of the Southern African sub-region, the NEPAD framework and Millennium Development Goals.

Through its programmes, ECA supports member States and regional economic communities to formulate and implement harmonized macroeconomic and sectoral policies and programmes to address key integration priorities in Southern Africa, including:

  • Trade and Infrastructure;
  • Investment and finance;
  • Mining and energy ;
  • Food security and sustainable development;
  • Gender and development;
  • ICTs and achievement of Millennium Development Goals.

For more information on ECA Southern Africa and its programs write to director@uneca.org