About the office

Located in Yaounde, Cameroon, the Sub-Regional Office for Central Africa of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA/SRO-CA covers the following member States: Cameroon, Chad, Central African Republic, Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon and Sao Tome & Principe. Given its remit to support the Regional Economic Communities, namely CEMAC and ECCAS as well as their specialised institutions, ECA/SRO-CA also collaborates with Angola, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of Congo. The Office further works with non-governmental organizations, the civil society, universities, research institutions and the private sector.

The Sub-regional Office for Central Africa carries out ECA’s work to promote economic and social transformation by: a) Collecting information to prepare country and sub-regional profiles that include risk analysis for member states; b) Building the capacity of and strengthening the relationship with National Statistical Offices in the countries covered;  c)  Developing and maintaining sub-regional repositories of statistical information that feed into the common databank and support all analytical and research needs of the Commission; d) Contributing to and promoting the results of ECA’s policy-oriented research; e) Providing policy advisory services to member States, regional economic communities and sub-regional development operators to promote regional integration and sub-regional initiatives; and, f) Serving as facilitators of the integration activities of organizations of the United Nations system operating within the sub-region.

ECA/SRO-CA annually reports to  the sub-region’s Intergovernmental Committee of Experts (ICE), which channels its recommendations to the Joint Annual Meetings of the African Union Conference of Ministers of Economy and Finance and Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development of the Economic Commission for Africa.