United Nations **E**/ECA/CM/57/2



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 19 December 2024 Original: English

Economic Commission for Africa Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development Fifty-seventh session Addis Ababa, 17 and 18 March 2025

Item 2 of the provisional agenda*
Election of the Bureau and adoption of the agenda and programme of work

Annotated provisional agenda

1. Opening of the ministerial segment

The ministerial segment will begin with an opening ceremony at which the Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) and the Chair of the outgoing Bureau of the Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development will deliver welcoming statements. The prime minister/president/minister of foreign affairs of the host country will deliver the official opening address.

2. Election of the Bureau and adoption of the agenda and programme of work

Documentation

Provisional agenda (E/ECA/CM/57/1)

Annotated provisional agenda (E/ECA/CM/57/2)

Draft programme of work (E/ECA/CM/57/3)

The composition of the new Bureau of the Conference of Ministers will be announced, following consultations. The Bureau will comprise five members (one Chair, three Vice-Chairs and one Rapporteur), who will be elected on the basis of equitable geographical representation. The composition of the Bureau elected at the previous sessions is set out in the annex to the present document. Following brief remarks, the incoming Chair will preside over the remainder of the proceedings. The Conference of Ministers will be invited to consider and adopt the agenda and programme of work, subject to such amendments as are deemed necessary.

* E/ECA/CM/57/1.



3. Dialogue on the theme of the fifty-seventh session of the Economic Commission for Africa

Documentation

Issues paper: advancing the implementation of the Agreement Establishing the African Continental Free Trade Area: proposing transformative strategic actions (E/ECA/COE/43/6-E/ECA/CM/57/4)

During the dialogue, issues relating to the theme of the session will be explored under the following sub-items:

(a) Keynote address: 2025 Adebayo Adedeji Memorial Lecture

The [position, organization, name – to be determined], will deliver the annual Adebayo Adedeji Memorial Lecture. Thereafter, ministers will be invited to share their views on the issues raised in the lecture, in the form of an interactive discussion.

(b) Launch of the Economic Report on Africa, 2025

The Director of the Macroeconomic Policy, Finance and Governance Division, ECA, Zuzana Schwidrowski, will present a summary of the principal findings and conclusions set out in the report. Subsequently, ministers will be invited to share their views on the findings and conclusions, in the form of an interactive discussion.

(c) High-level discussion

A high-level discussion will be held, in which ministers will have a further opportunity to share their views on issues emanating from the keynote address and from the presentation of the *Economic Report on Africa*, 2025.

4. High-level round-table discussions

Three high-level round-table discussions will be held to explore topics relating to the theme of the session. Ministers and leading experts from international organizations, civil society and the private sector will be invited to share their views on the topic of each round-table discussion.

5. Consideration of recommendations and adoption of resolutions

Under this agenda item, the Rapporteur of the Committee of Experts will present the major conclusions, recommendations and draft resolutions from the meeting of the Committee to the Conference of Ministers for its consideration and adoption.

6. Consideration and adoption of the ministerial statement

Under this agenda item, the Conference of Ministers may wish to consider and adopt a ministerial policy statement, in which the views of the ministers on the theme of the session and on other policy and operational issues are articulated.

7. Other matters

2/5 24-01421

The Conference of Ministers may wish to consider any other matter that may be brought to its attention.

8. Closing of the ministerial segment and the fifty-seventh session of the Economic Commission for Africa

The Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Africa will deliver brief closing remarks. The Chair of the Bureau will highlight the main outcomes and close the ministerial segment and the fifty-seventh session of the Commission.

24-01421

Annex

Membership of the Bureau of the Conference of African Ministers of Finance, Planning and Economic Development elected during previous sessions of the Economic Commission for Africa

Year (venue)	Chair	First Vice-Chair	Second Vice-Chair	Third Vice-Chair	Rapporteur
2001 (Algiers)	Algeria (NA)	United Republic of Tanzania (EA)	Gabon (CA)	Mali (WA)	South Africa (SA)
2002 (Johannesburg, South Africa)	South Africa (SA)	Cameroon (CA)	Ghana (WA)	Kenya (EA)	Sudan (NA)
2003 (Addis Ababa)	South Africa (SA)	Cameroon (CA)	Ghana (WA)	Kenya (EA)	Sudan (NA)
2004 (Kampala)	Uganda (EA)	Niger (WA)	Mauritania (NA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	Zambia (SA)
2005 (Abuja)	Nigeria (WA)	Egypt (NA)	Congo (CA)	Lesotho (SA)	Ethiopia (EA)
2006 (Ouagadougou)	Burkina Faso (WA)	Congo (CA)	Libya (NA)	Burundi (EA)	Swaziland (SA)
2007 (Addis Ababa)	Ethiopia (EA)	Swaziland (SA)	Cameroon (CA)	Tunisia (NA)	Liberia (WA)
2008 (Addis Ababa)	Ethiopia (EA)	Chad (CA)	Algeria (NA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Swaziland (SA)
2009 (Cairo)	Egypt (NA)	Chad (CA)	Zimbabwe (SA)	Benin (WA)	Kenya (EA)
2010 (Lilongwe)	Malawi (SA)	Sierra Leone (WA)	Rwanda (EA)	Cameroon (CA)	Morocco (NA)
2011 (Addis Ababa)	Guinea (WA)	Rwanda (EA)	Central African Republic (CA)	Mauritania (NA)	Malawi (SA)
2012 (Addis Ababa)	Gabon (CA)	Libya (NA)	Swaziland (SA)	Eritrea (EA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)
2013 (Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Kenya (EA)	Algeria (NA)	Lesotho (SA)	Cameroon (CA)
2014 (Abuja)	Nigeria (WA)	Mauritania (NA)	Malawi (SA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	United Republic of Tanzania (EA)

4/5 24-01421

Year (venue)	Chair	First Vice-Chair	Second Vice-Chair	Third Vice-Chair	Rapporteur
2015 (Addis Ababa)	United Republic of Tanzania (EA)	Egypt (NA)	Gabon (CA)	South Africa (SA)	Guinea (WA)
2016 (Addis Ababa)	South Africa (SA)	Democratic Republic of the Congo (CA)	Algeria (NA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Uganda (EA)
2017 (Dakar)	Senegal (WA)	Vacant (NA)	Chad (CA)	Kenya (EA)	South Africa (SA)
2018 (Addis Ababa)	Sudan (NA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	Ethiopia (EA)	Lesotho (SA)	Senegal (WA)
2019 (Marrakech, Morocco)	Morocco (NA)	Ethiopia (EA)	Zambia (SA)	Togo (WA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)
2020 (online)	Morocco (NA)	Ethiopia (EA)	Zambia (SA)	Togo (WA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)
2021 (Addis Ababa)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	Madagascar (EA)	Zambia (SA)	Sierra Leone (WA)	Morocco (NA)
2022 (Dakar)	Senegal (WA)	Madagascar (EA)	Zimbabwe (SA)	Vacant (NA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)
2023 (Addis Ababa)	Uganda (EA)	South Africa (SA)	Morocco (NA)	Equatorial Guinea (CA)	Senegal (WA)
2024 (Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe)	Zimbabwe (SA)	Egypt (NA)	Vacant (CA)	Côte d'Ivoire (WA)	Uganda (EA)

Abbreviations: CA, Central Africa; EA, East Africa; NA, North Africa; SA, Southern Africa; WA, West Africa.

24-01421 5/5